danaxrd.blogg.se

Eenie meenie miney mo book
Eenie meenie miney mo book









eenie meenie miney mo book

"Eenie, Meenie, Miney, Mo" ( Early 19th Century) Johnson's piece got us thinking about the songs like the ice cream truck song - a seemingly innocuous folk song, nursery rhyme, or jingle - that we may not have known were racist, and what we should do when we learn about their histories. Whenever I hear the music now, the antique voice laughing about niggers and watermelon fills my head," Johnson wrote. " When the reach of racism robs me of fond memories from my childhood, it feels intensely personal again.

EENIE MEENIE MINEY MO BOOK FREE

The song's melody, it turns out, was popularized in antebellum minstrel shows where the lyrics "parodied a free black man attempting to conform to white high society by dressing in fine clothes and using big words." To make matters worse, that song became the basis for an offensive folk song in 1916 titled, "Nigger Love A Watermelon Ha! Ha! Ha!" before turning into the melody that beckons ice cream seekers today.įor Theodore Johnson III, who wrote the article, knowledge of that history ruined ice cream trucks for him. There is some offensive language below.Ī little over a week ago, NPR had an illuminating and poignant report on the the racist beginnings of the ice cream truck song. And, next Mon­day, I’ll tell you about anoth­er of my favorite books.Warning: We are talking about racism in this article. And come back on Thurs­day for a blog that is yet to be determined-but it will be dif­fer­ent.

eenie meenie miney mo book

(Don’t know if it will be when you read this.) Read all about the author Jen­na Ben­nett here. How lucky can you get? A Cut­throat Busi­ness avail­able here. (I’m sure that suc­ceed­ing books will go a tad fur­ther, but I do like the fun of this approach.) And, while this is not the first fic­tion­al real estate agent I’ve read about who finds a body in the vacant house, there’s a lot more going on in this book that war­rants applause.Īs I write this brief review, I see that the e‑book is avail­able for free. For anoth­er thing, there’s a con­sid­er­able amount of sex­u­al ten­sion, but it’s light­ly played, and a kiss is the ulti­mate thrill. Of course, Savan­nah is most polite to the ques­tion­ing police, and that could be a good thing.Īll that is good and well, but exact­ly why do I pick this is one of my favorite books? For one thing, when I real­ized I was way over half way through with the book, I stayed awake until 2 A.M. And one def­i­nite­ly should­n’t be attract­ed to that bad boy, Rafe. Like, I’m sure, it isn’t prop­er to find a dead body, even if it is in the house she’s show­ing and it just hap­pens to be her hat­ed boss. There’s a few oth­er things a prop­er lady does­n’t do, and, unfor­tu­nate­ly, Savan­nah falls a bit short on some things. On a date, a prop­er lady does­n’t eat too much, or ever eat dessert.

eenie meenie miney mo book

She is a prop­er south­ern belle who always remem­bers what her moth­er says. Savan­nah Mar­tin is a new­com­er to the real estate sales busi­ness. Even bet­ter, I dis­cov­ered that this is the first of a series, with sev­er­al more to read. (I tend to cap­ture way more e‑books than I can pos­si­bly read.) Last week it was “eenie, mee­nie, miney, mo” time, and I’m glad this one got the fin­ger. Now, I must admit, it has been on my Kin­dle for quite some time.

eenie meenie miney mo book

A Cut­throat Busi­ness by Jen­na Ben­nett is one I’ve just fin­ished read­ing. I’ve read a lot of books that I rate five stars.











Eenie meenie miney mo book